The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) and the Nebraska School Activities Association (NSAA) on Monday announced the names of the 2021-2022 NFHS NSAA State Coaches of the Year.

Sidney High School coaches Matt McKay and Donna Wiedeburg are part of that list. Wiedeburg was selected as the Girls Cross Country Coach of the Year while McKay was recognized as the Boys Track & Field Coach of the Year.

Wiedeburg coached senior Lydia Peters and Erika Meakins, junior Rheo Dykstra, sophomores Talissa Tanquary and Jenju Peters along with freshman Ileana Neufeld-Ponce to the Girls Class C State Cross Country title in October of 2021.

McKay oversaw a dominating performance by the Sidney Red Raiders in the Boys Class B State Track and Field Championships in May of 2022. Sidney captured 2 gold, 2 silver, and 2 bronze medals while scoring points in nine events to run away with the title.

2021-2022 NFHS NSAA State Coaches of the Year
Evan Bohnet, South Sioux City – Girls Wrestling
Kelly Cooksley, Broken Bow – Girls Golf
Brian Fleischman, Overton – Boys Golf
Steve Frey, Millard West – Baseball
Joe Hesse, Humphrey/Lindsay Holy Family – Boys Basketball
Jon Holtz, Elkhorn – Boys Tennis
Chace Hutchinson, Gretna – Girls Soccer
Sam Jilka, Lexington – Boys Cross Country
Josh Johnson, Wayne – Girls Bowling
Lance Kush, Elkhorn North – Girls Tennis
Paul Lee, Grand Island – Boys Bowling
Joel Lemus-Leon, Lexington – Boys Soccer
Matt McKay, Sidney – Boys Track & Field
Ryan Mraz, Sutherland – Boys Wrestling
Ross Mueller, Lincoln Southwest – Swimming & Diving
Melinda Nielsen, Ogallala – Unified Sports, Bowling
Kevin Schrad, Lincoln Southwest – Girls Track & Field
Mike Spiers, Howells-Dodge – Football
David Stallings, Millard South – Unified Sports, Track & Field
Aaron Sterup, North Bend Central – Girls Basketball
Mark Watt, Lincoln Southwest – Softball
Donna Wiedeburg, Sidney – Girls Cross Country
Sue Ziegler, Lincoln Lutheran – Volleyball

These coaches will be honored during halftime of the Class A Girls State Basketball Semifinal game on Friday, March 3rd, 2023 at Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln.