DALTON - Senior Justin Ernest led the Leyton selections to the 2022 Class D-9 all-district football team released last week. 

Ernest was named first-team offense at tight end and wide receiver and was also selected as the kick and punt returner. The senior had 25 receptions for 395 yards and 7 TDs. He averaged 24.2 yards per kick return and 12 yards a punt return.

The Warriors also added senior lineman Jakob Kruse to the second-team offense. Second team defensive selections include Chance Carter, Dawson Juelfs, and Trenton Rushmanenior.

Senior Damyn Russ was selected as honorable mention.

D2-9 All-District Football Team

1st Team Offense QB: Kyle Cox (SO., Sandhills/Thedford) RB: Eli Paxton (SR., Mullen) RB: Connor Cooksley (SR., Sandhills/Thedford) OL: Zeb Wilde (JR., Sandhills/Thedford) OL: Sid Miller (SR., Anselmo/Merna) OL: Joey Sallach (JR., South Loup) OL: Deacon DeNaeyer (SR., Mullen) TE/WR: Kaden Haake (SR., Sandhills/Thedford) TE/WR: Justin Ernest (SR., Leyton) ATH: Trey Connell (JR., South Loup) KICKER: Brady Dahlberg (JR., Sandhills/Thedford)

1st Team Defense: DL: Isaac Welch (SR., Mullen) DL: Rio Remund (JR., South Loup) DL: Andrew Furrow (SR., Sandhills/Thedford) DL: Brady Dahlberg (JR., Sandhills/Thedford) LB: Lance Jones (SR., South Loup) LB: Wyatt Phillips (SR., Hyannis) LB: Quinten Myers (JR., Anselmo/Merna) DB: Chase Gracey (JR., Mullen) DB: Cache Gracey (JR., South Loup) K/P RETURNER: Justin Ernest (SR., Leyton)

2nd Team Offense QB: Max Kostman (SR., Hyannis) RB: Tyce Porter (JR., Anselmo/Merna) RB: Luke Durfee (JR., Mullen) OL: Clay Witthuhn (SR., South Loup) OL: Jakob Kruse (SR., Leyton) OL: Rhett McFadden (JR., Sandhills/Thedford) TE: Colin Winkelbauer (SR., Sandhills/Thedford) TE: Myles Andersen (SO., Hyannis)

2nd Team Defense DL: Kaleb Borges (JR., Leyton) DL: Tel Kvanvig (SR., Mullen) DL: Chance Carter (SR., Leyton) DL: Sam McMillan (SR., Anselmo/Merna) LB: Ezekiel Heaton (SR., Hyannis) LB: Dawson Juelfs (SR. Leyton) LB: Coby Higgins (JR., Sandhills/Thedford) DB: Trenton Rushman (JR., Leyton) DB: Jake Connell (SR., Hyannis)

Honorable Mention: Justin French (SO., Mullen) Caden Zutavern (SO., Sandhills/Thedford) Zane Druery (Sr., Anselmo/Merna) Ethan Furne (SO., South Loup) Ben Connell (SO., Hyannis) Damyn Russ (SR., Leyton)