SIDNEY -- The winter cold returned to Cheyenne County Wednesday, and so did the Big Wheel racers in the 3rd Annual Big Boy Big Wheel Race.

As the day edged closer to 11 a.m., six racers and the event support staff lined up at the south end of the Deadwood Trail near the 17J Link and Old Post Road. The temperatures hovered around 20 degrees and didn't waver much in the course of the race as competitors pedaled for first place recognition. 

As the sweat froze and the muscles tightened, first place contender Hunter Arterburn was almost taken out of the race when his shoe laces got entangled in the pedals, resulting in a spin out early in the race. He recovered in time to recover for second place as Justin Richards held on for first place.

The race also included competitors from Sidney Regional Medical Center and Cheyenne County Community Center. This year's race proved to be a tie-breaker between The Big Boy's Hunter Arterburn and Justin Richards. Arterburn won the first race, Richards won last year's event and then came back to win this year. 

Richards win also scored Kyah Loos, of Sterling, club seats to Kenny Chesney and Kelsea Ballerini on May 13 at Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln. She also gets a membership to The Center. Loos was one of 25 people who predicted Richards would get back-to-back victories. 

Competing for the Cheyenne County Community Center were Teri Petersen and Melanie Klosky. Dr. April Smith and Dr. James Popovich competed for Sidney Regional Medical Center.

Also finishing the race this year are: 3rd- Teri Petersen, 4th- Melanie Klosky,  5th- Dr. James Popovich and 6th- Dr. April Smith. 

This year's event supports the Small Towns Matter bike helmet giveaway. Students, parents, and community leaders can submit their elementary school to win bicycle helmets for every student and $2,500 to the school thanks to United Healthcare and News Channel Nebraska. Deadline to register is April 30.

Second place between The Big Boy and Sidney Regional Medical Center made a $500 donation to the Cheyenne County Community Center Foundation.