CHADRON – Twenty-seven Nebraska high school students have been selected for the Rural Health Opportunities Program (RHOP) at Chadron State College. Students selected as participants in RHOP receive a full-tuition scholarship to CSC.

Alternates to the program complete the same curriculum and have the same benefits, excluding the scholarship, and often receive nearly or the same financial support through other scholarships. If a participant position opens, alternates are the first to be considered. Otherwise, alternates have been highly successful in their applications through the traditional route, according to Dr. Joyce Hardy, Professor and Department Chair of Biology.

Students who successfully complete their pre-professional education at CSC advance directly to the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC). Founded in 1989, RHOP is a collaborative program between Chadron State College and UNMC. After earning their professional degrees, RHOP participants are expected and encouraged to return to rural Nebraska to provide health care.

Dental students will complete their advanced training at Lincoln, dental hygiene students at Gering, nursing students at Scottsbluff, and all others at the UNMC campuses in Omaha or Kearney. Students chosen for RHOP at CSC include the names below.

Dental Hygiene

Kylee Simon of Burwell


Samuel Aitken of Wausa

Hailey Markee of Imperial


Erin Hildebrand of Gretna

Olivia Hodge of McCook

Teyla Huff of Gering

Alissa Morales of Gering

Hailey Rademacher of Loup City

Carlie Schneider of Alliance

Peyton Wieting of Pierce


Emma Carfield of Trenton

Caitlyn Dolezal of Grant

Ailee Lohr of Gering

Cora Payne of Utica

Rylee Poessnecker of Atkinson

Shaylee Thomsen of Ord

Gabrielle Twarling of Hay Springs

Occupational Therapy  

Kaylee Sprock of Chadron

Physician Assistant

Mallory Belitz of Neligh

Karsten Bradley of Republican City


Meradith Rhembrandt of Chadron

Physical Therapy

Hans Bastron of Scottsbluff

Casey Miller of Hemingford


Faith Hauxwell of Imperial

Demaris Kelso of Chadron

Brandon Kollars of Norfolk

Wrylee Osterhaus of Blair