Sonnenberg easily takes Logan County

NORTHEAST COLORADO --  Logan County native Jerry Sonnenberg collected 64.54 percent of Logan County voters in the June 25 primary.  20 percent of county voters voted for Boebert. 

With 95 percent of precincts reporting for District 4, Boebert earned 44 percent of voters and Sonnenberg and Deborah Flora tied at 14 percent. 

In a social media statement, Sonnenberg said he was "humbled by the wide range of support for this campaign. I am proud of the campaign we ran. Congratulations to Congresswomen Boebert on her victory tonight. I look forward to helping her win this seat in November and then being a resource to her on rural issues in this congressional district."

Voters also chose Greg Lopez to finish Rep. Ken Buck's term. Rep. Buck retired from office. Frank Atwood, Hannah Goodman and Trisha Eloise Calvarese also sought to complete Rep. Buck's seat.

In the District 63 race for the Colorado Legislature, Dusty A. Johnson finished the Logan County Primary collecting 73.23 percent of the votes to Brian Urdiales' 26.77 percent. Morgan County Republican voters finished the night closer: 54.44 percent for Johnson and 45.56 percent for Urdiales.

Logan County and Morgan County voters elected Travis Sides to the office of District Attorney. Michael John Brownell and Jim Yahn were elected to Logan County commissioner seats.

Morgan County voters supported Sonnenberg with 31.7 percent compared to Boebert's 40.25. Morgan County District 1 commissioner candidate Jodi Walker (Democrat) received 808 votes to Republican Kelvin Bernhardt's 3,809. In the District 3 race, Democrat Scott Klinkhammer collected 783 votes to Tim Malone's 2,596, 58 percent of the Republican vote.

In Sedgwick County's Primary Election, John Fryar was elected to the District 2 county commissioner seat, defeating Donald Schneider and Tracy Kizer. Howard McCormick won the District 3 seat unopposed.