The National Weather Service issued a Red Flag Warning for most of western Nebraska and nearly the entire panhandle until 7 p.m. tonight.

A red flag warning means low temperature, low humidity, and strong winds are expected to combine to produce an increased risk of fire danger.

The only towns in the panhandle excluded form this warning are Chadron and the northern part of Harrison.

The red flag warning exceeds into southeast Wyoming and northern Colorado towns including; Sterling, Julesberg, and Fort Collins.

Cheyenne, Kimball, Keith and Deuel counties have already announced a fire ban for those areas. 

The town Bayard in Morrill county announced a fire ban today.