SIDNEY -- The Sidney High School FFA held its annual dinner fundraiser Saturday at the Cheyenne County Fairgrounds.

The night included a brisket dinner as a silent auction was taking place, followed by a labor auction; put a student to work if you get the winning bid.

Senior Emily Miller took part in the auction with the other 18 students.

“I’ve been with the FFA chapter since 2021. This will be my third year. Each year I’ve been a chapter officer,” Miller said.

She served one year as parliamentarian and two years as secretary. 

“This program has been so life-changing for me. I’v had so many opportunities to better myself with some of the competitions we do. I know this program has shaped me.”

She said Sidney FFA is a great group of kids with a variety of skills and interests.

“Within the program, we’re able to do so many different things,” she said.

Peyton Sprenger, a sophomore, said she has been involved in FFA for two years.

“I’ve competed in ag demo, livestock management and meat judging. I love the atmosphere of our chapter. We all get along. It’s just a fun group,”

She said the benefits of FFA membership include possible scholarships and it helps members through their older years 

“I’ve been in agriculture since I was born. When I heard we were going to get an ag teacher I was really excited. That was my 8th grade year,” Sprenger said.

She said she was drawn to FFA since she was young. 

The night included an awards presentation. Sidney Allard was recognized as the top fundraiser, President’s Retiring Address and as Member of the year. Ty Grunig received the Honorary Degree, Riley Rohm was recognized as the Top Volunteer. Grunig was recognized for Scholarships and for Senior Highlight.

New inducted officer team members for 2023-24 are: Ty Grunig -- President, Riley Rohm --  Vice President,   Peyton Sprenger -- Secretary, Josette McConnell -- Treasurer, Sidney Allard -- Reporter,  Tyler Jensen -- Sentinel,  Montana Markus -- Advisor, Peyton Sprenger -- Member of the Year, Josette McConnell -- Top Volunteer, Peyton Sprenger -- Top Fundraiser and Honorary Degree receipts:  Brian Sprenger and Susan Narjes. 

Retiring Seniors include: Emily Miller, Rheo Dykstra, Zoe Fornander, Paxton Wilson, Joslyn Bertrand, Colby Langley and Brayden Weinbender.

Proceeds from the event support FFA activities.