SIDNEY, Neb. -- Sidney Public Schools Activity and Academic Calendar for the 2022-2023 year.

Sidney Public Schools said they recognize the importance of communicating school plans ahead of time to all stakeholders so that family planning can take place.

A schedule change for the 2022-23 School Year: Friday afternoons will have an early dismissal with staggered building dismissal times beginning at approximately 12:25 PM.  Please see below for the detailed Fridays - Early Dismissal by the School schedule. As a result of this schedule change, we will no longer have monthly Wednesday early outs. This will create a consistent week-to-week schedule. We know that having occasional Wednesdays with an early dismissal was not always easy to remember and that a consistent schedule will allow parents to plan for childcare ahead of time.

*Cool Kids Club will be available on Fridays for students grades K-3  

Rationale for Friday early dismissal:

Friday afternoons typically have the most students absent.  This is due to student activities and family vacations.

Students gone on Friday afternoon will no longer miss instruction and assignments that need to be made up.

Finding enough substitute teachers for Fridays is impossible.

Giving teachers more plan time for high-quality lessons the following week.

Allotted time for Professional Development and Staff Meetings eliminating the need for monthly Wednesday early outs.

 

FRIDAYS - EARLY DISMISSAL TIMES BY SCHOOL

Central Elementary - 12:25PM (Pre K Noon)

South Elementary - 12:35PM

North Elementary - 12:45PM

West Elementary - 12:55PM

Middle School and High School - 1:05PM

Sidney Public School's 2022-2023 Calendar year:

Thur, Fri August 11, 12 All Staff Return Work Days/Building Time

New Teacher Professional Development Days

Mon-Tues August 15, 16 All Staff Professional Development/Workdays

Tues August 16 Elementary Open House Day K-6 1pm to 4pm 

Wed August 17 Students First Day K-12

Mon September 5 LABOR DAY-No School

Thur October 13 End of 1st Quarter

Fri October 14 Teacher Workday/No Students

Wed, Thur October 19, 20 Parent-Teacher Conference-Early Dismissal

Fri October 21 Fall Break-No School

Wed-Fri November 23-25 Thanksgiving Vacation

Mon, Tues December 19, 20 High School Finals

Tues December 20 Last Day of Semester (½ Day)

Wed December 21 Christmas Vacation

Tues January 3 Teacher Inservice/No Students

Wed January 4 Students Return for 2nd Semester

Fri February 17 Winter Break-No School

Mon February 20 Staff In-Service/No Students

Thur March 2 End of 3rd Quarter

Fri March 3 Teacher Workday/No Students

Mon, Tues March 6, 7 Parent Teacher Conference K-6 Only/Early Dismissal

Thur March 9 No School PK-6

Fri March 10 No School PK-12

Thur, Fri, Mon April 6, 7, 10 Spring Break-No School

Fri, Mon May 12, 15 Senior Finals/Checkout

Sat, May 20 Graduation 11:00 AM

Mon, Tues May 22, 23 High School Finals

Wed, May 24 Student Checkout Day/Teacher Work Day

Thur, May 25 Last Day for Teachers (½ Day)

 

*185 teacher days, 176.5 student days

*All Fridays will follow this early out schedule

Central Elementary: 12:20 Kindergarten and 12:00 Pre-Kindergarten

South Elementary 12:30

North Elementary 12:45

West Elementary 12:55

Middle School 1:05

High School 1:05